November Goals

It’s Friday, the last day of the work week, and today it’s also the first day my favorite month. Being from Arizona, when I was growing up November really marked the start of fall for me. The weather was finally reliably cool, and I could run at any time of the day and be relatively comfortable. The light changes and days get shorter and cooler, a nice relief from the blazing summer we slogged through from basically April to October. Now that I live in California, it rare to have an uncomfortable day ever. I live near the water and the air is much wetter than the dry desert air I grew up in. Running is pretty much glorious at all times, with stunning sunrises and sunsets over the ocean a regular occurrence. I’m so spoiled I know. I do, however, miss the dry air sometimes.

Running in the fall has always been of my favorite things in the world. This year it was a rough adjustment, having a 9-5 job for the first time, and feeling l like I miss out on the great outdoors nearly everyday because I have to either run on the treadmill or run in the dark. I’m thankful to have a good job, but I definitely jump at every chance I get to run at sunset on crisp fall day, (even if it means postponing a Friday date night much to the BF’s dismay).

Danica and I have been running super consistently since the beginning of June and it’s been beyond fantastic. Running with a buddy makes a world of difference when you have to get up at 4:30 to fit your run in. We’ve become good friends putting in so many miles together and I feel lucky to run with her so often, knowing that the long hilly training runs through Orange County wouldn’t be the same without her! Initially we were training for the Long Beach Marathon, but when she got the chance of a lifetime to go to Hawaii to cover the Ironman Championships, I ran the race alone and had a great time! Now with 2 days before I tackle my fourth marathon, the Santa Clarita Marathon, I figured it would be a great time to lay out some goals for myself for November. I’ve been reading a lot lately that planning out and writing down goals can help you to accomplish them, so why not write them for the rest of the world to see? For November my focus is really on eating clean and training hard for the Tucson Marathon December 8th. I really want to break 4 hours at this race and I know with some work and persistence I can absolutely make it happen!

So here we go!

  1. Track all my food – I’ve managed to gain a few lbs since starting my job, mostly from mindless snacking on the goodies at work. I want to lose those few pounds and then a few more, since we all know the lighter you are, the faster you can run! Tracking all my food helps me really see what I’m putting in my body and make better choices throughout the day. I’m making it a goal so that I actually do it and stick to it!
  2. Strength Training 4x per week – I do plenty of cardio obviously, but I want to get stronger and more toned to really be able to push myself come race day. Being physically stronger will help me push towards my goals, and being mentally stronger knowing I’m happy in my own more toned skin! I’m starting the Nhershoes Holiday Shred on November 18th, but until then I’m using Bobbi’s summer shred workouts, and dang! That girl can write a workout!
  3. Speed Work 1-2x per week – my dad always said “long slow runs equal long slow races” and he’s definitely right. I’ve talked to him about this a lot, and come to the conclusion for the next 5 weeks speed work needs to be a key player in my training.  Both shorter speedier runs, but also a long run with the last few miles at Marathon Goal Pace. I think that the speed is what’s missing on race day.
  4. Get blog up and running – this doesn’t directly correlate to my running goals, but this blog has been on the backburner of my brain for a good amount of time. So here it is, I’ve started it and we’ll just see where it takes me through my running and baking adventures!

So there you have it, that’s what I’ll be focusing for the next 5 weeks until the Tucson Marathon. Come December I’ll set up a new list of goals for the month and try to keep up those I’ve set in the past as well. This is a blog about my running, baking, and life in general; so make a little pit stop here once in a while to see what’s up, get some inspiration, or maybe grab a recipe or two for a sweet treat, and don’t hesitate to give me a shout if you feel the urge! Here’s to a new virtual adventure!

peace.love.&running

MK

leave me some love!

