Marathon Recovery Week

This past week has been lovely, a recovery week after the marathon last Sunday has been so relaxing and let me sort of recharge my batteries and take a step back. I’m ready and looking forward to the next 3 weeks of training to hopefully build up a little speed for the Tucson Marathon! I’ve sketched out a rough mini training plan to follow with some speed work mixed in; as long as I can stick to it I think I’ll be in good shape for the race! I’ve also been sticking really well to my goals for November, granted it’s only been 10 days but I’ve tracked all my food, except on Sundays when I give myself a break, but I noticed even on these days I was still more conscious of what I was putting in my body and didn’t stuff myself. I can definitely tell a difference when I track my food, I feel lighter, more healthy, and just generally better about myself when I pay attention to what I’m eating. It was a good week to start the tracking process again because I wasn’t running a whole lot of miles, so I didn’t feel like I was starving all the time. This week will be the test since I have a lot miles planned!

As for post-marathon soreness, I really didn’t have any at all! Both Danica and I felt surprisingly good for both having such great races, guess our training is paying off! I’ve been struggling with a nagging injury in my foot, and it was pretty sore when I woke up after the race on Monday. The 2nd metatarsal on the right foot feels like it’s bruised, so I went to the podiatrist and we’re working on some solutions. It doesn’t hurt when I run luckily, mostly when I wake up in the morning or when I wear my cheap Target flats. I’ve been trying to wear my old pair of Asics Kinseis since the cushioning is so good, I do miss wearing heels to work though!

Over all I ran 13 miles for the week, not including the 26.2 for the race. I let myself sleep in all week to rest and recover and got a 3 and 4 miler in on the treadmill during lunchtime at work. The 3 miler, the first run post race was fantastic! I felt like I could run forever, too bad I had to get back to the office! And my 4 miler the next day was similar but by mile 3 I remember I’m on a treadmill and start to feel like a hamster on a wheel. For both these runs I picked up the pace periodically based on how I felt and the music that pumped through my headphones. I couldn’t believe how good it felt to run fast, especially after such a great marathon! Sunday was a 6-miler, 3 with the BF and then 3 by myself. I also got in 2 strength workouts, not quite to my goal of three a week, but this week should be better, I feel better in my clothes when I get strength workouts in!

It was very weird to have a recovery weekend with very little running, but also so nice! I actually got to get dressed up and go out two nights in a row! Friday we walked over to the Aquarium of the Pacific for their Night Dive with Danica and her husband, which was so fun and included a trip to The Grilled Cheese Truck as well as watching the penguins splash around and petting the sharks! (living in Long Beach is the best, there are always fun things to do on the weekends!) Saturday we ran some errands, I baked and then got a little fancy to go to a friend’s birthday party while I watched my UofA Wildcats fall to BF’s UCLA Bruins. Then the BF was gone all morning Sunday so I relished in laziness, but managed to make it to Mass on time. The rest of the day I included football, napping and trying a new restaurant by our house. It’s been so long since I could just relax and not worry that I was missing a run, kind of nice! But I know that all the training I do make those rare chill weekends so much more worth it!

That's a Humpback whale behind us at the Aquarium of the Pacific.

That’s a Humpback whale behind us at the Aquarium of the Pacific.

Penguinos!

Penguinos!

My favorites on our relaxing weekend!

My favorites on our relaxing weekend!

Happy Birthday Jason!

Happy Birthday Jason!

Bew baby The Stick for me, and Zensah Calf Sleeves for the BF! I love a trip to Road Runner Sports!

New baby Stick for me, and Zensah Calf Sleeves for the BF! I love a trip to Road Runner Sports!

I’m rested and ready to hit the pavement hard this week, AND get to run with Danica since we haven’t run together since the marathon!

Hope your weekend was just a refreshing!

peace.love.&running

MK

One thought on “Marathon Recovery Week

  1. Pingback: Lazy Week: Off Season Week 4 | Chatter Gets Fit

leave me some love!

