Salted Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

It’s December, which in my book means it’s officially holiday baking season! I love this time of year because all of the baking essentials are on sale at the grocery store, and I get to stock up on non-perishable baking items. I wish we could have a deep freezer to stock up even more, but I don’t think the apartment complex would like the overload on electricity. I also love this season because there are so many yummy flavors to enjoy during the holidays, while these cookies are good anytime of the year, I think they taste extra delicious during the holidays!

These cookies were a bit of an experiment, a combo of a Pinterest recipe and one of my Gramma’s favorites. I saw this recipe for Salted Chocolate Chip Oatmeal cookies posted on Real Simple and being a salty sweet fiend knew I had to try them. Growing up eating the oatmeal raisin cookies my mom made from my Gramma’s recipe I didn’t want to completely disregard that either! So I sort of mixed the two and ended up with a very tasty result!

The recipe is mostly my Gramma’s with a few small changes inspired by the Real Simple version, mostly the exchange of raisins for chocolate chips and the sprinkle of sea salt over the tops of the cookies. The other change involved the type of fat I used in the cookies. My Gramma’s uses shortening and I use butter because I never have shortening on hand. This will make the cookies flatten out a little more because butter has more moisture than shortening. (My Gramma’s cookies were always puffy little morsels because the shortening didn’t let them flatten out as much.) I think the butter gives them a rich yummy flavor and a nice chewy texture. To me they look more like a cookie you would buy in a sandwich place like Panera or Wildflower Bread Company, which is just the way I like them!

photo(2) copy
Salted Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:
1 cup sugar
1 cup butter (2 sticks)
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
½ cup milk
¾ teaspoon baking soda
2 cups flour
2 cups oatmeal
½ teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup chocolate chips
sea salt for sprinkling over the top

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees and prepare baking sheet with foil and cooking spray.
  2. Cream together butter and sugar until fluffyIMG_3613
    IMG_3615
  3. Add 2 eggs, ½ cup milk and vanilla

    IMG_3623

  4. In separate bowl combine (or sift if you like, I always skip the sifting though) flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon
  5. Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet, scraping the bowl with a rubber spatula as you go to make sure it all gets evenly combined
    IMG_3626
  6. Mix in the oatmeal
  7. Add the chocolate chips
    IMG_3627
  8. Scoop tablespoon size balls and align evenly on the baking sheet, sprinkle sea salt over the tops before you pop into the oven for 12-14 minutes.
    IMG_3630

These cookie were definitely BF and co-worker approved! I usually send all of my baked goods off to either my office or his but with these the BF insisted we keep at least a dozen at home for him to eat. I love the salty sweet combo, and the vanilla and cinnamon really come through to make a really tasty cookie!

IMG_3636I don’t drink milk, so the BF obliged to drink it after the pictures were done.

I got quite a few cookies out of the recipe about 3 and a half-dozen if I remember correctly, but it really depends on the size of the cookie you prefer. I think the next time a make them I’ll make smaller balls because they do spread quite a bit, and I hate when cookies touch each other during baking. Give the recipe a try and tell me what you think, did you make any changes? Happy holiday baking!

peace.love.&running

MK

leave me some love!

